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Before you fill out an application for a new, used or junk motor vehicle dealers license, you must take the time to 
carefully read these guideline. This will save you time and effort in completing the application process. 

 

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
 

You must complete the following requirements prior to making application for a new Class 1 (New), 
Class 2 (Used) and Class 3 (Junk) Motor Vehicle License. Applications will not be accepted without 
the required documentation: 

 

 You must provide a valid Massachusetts Driver’s License. 

 Complete a Form G-31, New Motor Vehicle Dealers Application. 

 You must obtain a stamp of approval from BOTH the Zoning Board and the Committee on 
Licensing (two stamps) indicating the number of vehicles to be allowed at the location to be 

licensed*. Both departments are located at 1010 Massachusetts Avenue.  

 

 You must provide a copy of the deed or lease to include all attachments and a plot plan* 

 You must provide a copy of the Use and Occupancy Permit* and Use of Premise Permit. 

 You must provide a copy of a Flammable Storage License (Fire Department Certificate of 

Registration) if you are storing or displaying vehicles inside for sale*. 

 
 You must provide a copy of your corporate papers and/or business certificate. (If doing business 

using a d.b.a. name, both are required). 
 
 Class 2 (Used Dealers) must provide a completed notarized affidavit of proper repair facilities 

indicating who will perform the repairs or warranty work on the motor vehicles you sell. If you are 
not completing the repairs, you must provide a copy of the contract from the person who will 
provide the service also. 

 
 You Must provide evidence of a $25,000 bond, as required by law (chapter .140 section 58) 

 You must submit a licensing fee in the amount of two hundred dollars ($200.00) payable by cash 

or money order to the Boston Police Department 

 You will need to show identification to pick up your license. 

Licenses are not Transferable 
 
{*Not required for renewals unless any changes. See renewal information on the back of this form.} 

 
Additional Licensing Requirements for Class 1 & Class 3 Motor Vehicle Dealers License: 

 

 Class I (New): applicants are required to provide a copy of the agreement between the applicant 
and the motor vehicle manufacturer indicating that they are a recognized agent of that 
manufacturer. 

 

 Class 3 (Junk): applicants (New & Renewal) are subject to a public hearing prior to the issuance 
or re-issuance of a class 3 license pursuant to Massachusetts General Law Chapter 140 § 59. 



 Once you have completed the above application requirements you must bring the application and 
required documentation into the Public Service Counter at Boston Police Headquarters where 
your application and documentation will be reviewed for completeness. 

 

 If your application is complete, it will be accepted and you will be required to pay the licensing 

fee. 

 You will have a criminal background check and a driver license history check conducted for 

suitability. 

 An inspection of the location to be licensed will be scheduled. 

 You will be notified when to pick it up at the Licensing Unit 

 

Renewal Applications are mailed out to current licensees in December and must be received by January 
31st.  Applications received after that date will be treated as a New Application.  Applications need to be 
completed and signed by licensee 
 

You must include the following documents with the completed application 
 

 A completed affidavit of proper repair facilities for Class 2 (used) licensees’ only 
 

 A copy of the contract for proper repairs if work is done by another company 
 

 A copy of your current business certificate or a copy of the filing of your current annual report to 
the Massachusetts Secretary of State if a corporation. 

 

 A copy of your bond in the amount of $25,000.00 as required by Massachusetts General Law. 
Bond must be valid from January 1 through December 31st. 

 

 A Company Check payable to the Police Commissioner of the City of Boston for $200.00. 
 

 (Do Not Mail Cash!) 
 

 Public notice and hearing is required for the renewal of all Class 3 (Junk) dealers. 
 

Applications that are not complete, will not be acted upon and will be returned. 
 

Note: Criminal and Motor Vehicle Driving History Background Checks are conducted on  All New  
and Renewal Applicants. 

 
When these items are completed, they may be either mailed or delivered to: 

 

Boston Police Headquarters 
Licensing Unit 

1 Schroeder Plaza 
Boston, MA 02120 

 
If you have any questions, please contact the Licensing Unit at   617-343-4425  

Monday through Friday 8:30 AM to 4:00 PM. 
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