Are you worried

about being evicted?

EVICTIONS IN MASSACHUSETTS MUST BE COURT ORDERED.

You do not need to leave just because your landlord tells you to leave or gives you
a notice to quit. If your landlord files in court, you will receive a summons from the
court and you are not required to leave until a court orders it.

A LANDLORD CAN’'T THROW YOU OUT WITHOUT A COURT ORDER.

Your landlord cannot
* move your belongings out of your apartment,
* change your locks,
* shut off your utilities, or
e interfere with your use of the unit without permission from the court.

If you landlord has done or threatens to do any of the above, you can call the

Attorney General’s Office at (617) 727-8400.

YOU CAN APPLY FOR FINANCIAL HELP.

You can apply for Residential Assistance for Families in Transition (RAFT) and
Emergency Rental and Mortgage Assistance (ERMA) on the same form.

RAFT provides up to $10,000 if you are unable to pay your rent because of
COVID-19 ($4,000 for any other reason) in a 12-month period. ERMA helps
households which are behind on rent or mortgage, or at risk of falling behind on
rent or mortgage, due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

You cannot be evicted while a rental assistance application is pending.

Contact the Attorney General’s Office at (617) 727-8400 if you
need help filling out a rental assistance application form or online at
www.mass.gov/ago/consumercomplaint.



https://www.mass.gov/how-to/file-a-consumer-complaint

YOUR LANDLORD CAN'T DISCRIMINATE AGAINST YOU FOR
RECEIVING FINANCIAL HELP.

Your landlord can't discriminate against you because you receive government
benefits.

If your landlord refuses to accept RAFT or ERMA, or refuses to fill out their portion
of the application, they may be violating Massachusetts law.

To report discrimination, call the Civil Rights Division at (617) 963-2917 or file a
civil rights complaint at www.mass.gov/ago/civilrightscomplaint.

IF YOU HAVE A COURT DATE FOR AN EVICTION HEARING.

You can raise defenses to prevent your eviction. Some examples of defenses
include:
 There are serious problems with the condition of your home;
e Your landlord did not give you the written notice required;
 Ifyour landlord is retaliating against you for exercising your rights or
discriminating against you;
* You have a rental assistance application pending.

You also have a right to ask to stay in your home until January 31, 2021 under the
Centers for Disease Prevention and Control (CDC) eviction moratorium.

There may be free legal help available to you:

e Llegal services lawyers may be able to assist if you cannot afford a lawyer.
Visit evictionlegalhelp.org for more information.

e There are volunteer lawyers available in Housing Court to help you through
the Lawyer for the Day program.

 If you have a hearing, tell the judge or the mediator right away that you
would like to speak to a lawyer.

e The Court Service Centers can help explain the court process and help
you fill out basic court documents to respond to a summons and complaint.

The Attorney General’s Office will be funding sites across Massachusetts where
tenants and landlords can use computers to attend their virtual hearings. The
full list will be posted on www.mass.gov/ago/covid19 or tenants can call

(617) 727-8400 for more information.



https://www.masslegalhelp.org/covid-19/housing#check
http://evictionlegalhelp.org
https://www.mass.gov/guides/resources-during-covid-19
https://www.mass.gov/how-to/file-a-civil-rights-complaint

